Mentor Schools accepted into the prestigious League of Innovative Schools
WASHINGTON, D.C. | March 24, 2014 – Today Digital Promise, a national, independent nonprofit organization authorized by Congress to accelerate innovation in education, announced Mentor Public Schools as one of nine new members accepted into the League of Innovative Schools.

The League of Innovative Schools is a national coalition of school districts and educational agencies that is both a professional learning network and an incubator for innovative educational practices. The League brings together educators, researchers, and entrepreneurs to demonstrate, evaluate, and replicate promising ideas, with the goal of improving student achievement.

“We are excited to join the League of Innovative Schools and for the opportunity it brings to work collaboratively with other districts that are using blended learning to reshape what teaching and learning looks like across the country,” said Mentor Schools Superintendent Matthew Miller. “This is an exciting time in education as this important instructional shift to include the use of technology is happening in our schools. Beyond the curriculum, we are giving students the tools to become self-directed, life-long learners.”

Mentor Schools was selected from a competitive and national pool of applicants, based on its leadership, evidence of results, innovative vision for learning powered by technology, and commitment to collaborating with other League members. Upon joining the League, members will share lessons learned, participate in national and regional forums, and partner with research institutions, technology developers, and one another to deliver better results for students.

“The idea behind the League is simple, but ambitious: Innovative superintendents can support each other in transforming the learning environment and improving engagement and achievement,” said Karen Cator, President and Chief Executive Officer of Digital Promise. “By adding these nine new members and the sum of their experiences, the League can become an even stronger catalyst for improving opportunity for students around the country.”

The nine members of the League of Innovative Schools spring 2014 cohort are:

  • Department of Defense Education Activity Kaiserslautern District — Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • Highline Public Schools — Burien, WA
  • Knox County Schools — Knoxville, TN
  • Lexington County School District One — Lexington, SC
  • Mentor Public Schools — Mentor, OH
  • Pascack Valley Regional High School District — Montvale, NJ
  • Richland School District Two — Columbia, SC
  • Rowan-Salisbury Schools — Salisbury, NC
  • South Fayette Township School District — McDonald, PA

With these additions, the League now includes 46 school districts and education agencies in 25 states, representing nearly 3 million students.

“We are excited to welcome the new members of the League and to offer these districts the chance to learn together,” said Sara Schapiro, Director of the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools. “These exemplary educators recognize that while there is no ‘silver bullet’ in education, by coming together to tackle some big problems, district leaders, researchers, and entrepreneurs can make a meaningful difference.”
Print This Article
6451 Center Street   •   Mentor, Ohio 44060   •   Phone 440.255.4444   •   Fax 440.255.4622   •    Contact Us